Appell for en humanitær korridor

Oppfordring fra Kobane Reconstruction Board:

Kobane desperately needs our help to rebuild itself and for this to take place, the establishment of a humanitarian corridor between Kobane and Turkey is an urgent requirement.

As of today, July 2015, the city of Kobane, located on the Syrian-Turkish border, remains subject to the merciless attacks of ISIS. Equipped with far less sophisticated weapons and with limited resources, the people of Kobane’s unflinching determination to survive is their only real means of opposing ISIS, to hold on to their independence and to be free from this brutal violence. And this is what they have undertaken, at times supported by the US air force as part of the international coalition to resist the advance of ISIS. The price of Kobane’s resistance has been high: countless dead and injured, and an almost completely destroyed city infrastructure, which has left essential supplies of water, electricity, food and medicine in a state of collapse. And the threat from IS has still not been eliminated.

During the fight for Kobane, ISIS laid millions of mines to obstruct the population from returning home and to make the agriculture on which they depend for their livelihoods impossible. Kobane is almost completely closed off from the outside world and every day it has to deal with new attacks. The only way that people can obtain essential supplies needed for their survival and protection is to go north across the Turkish border. This corridor is for the most part kept closed by the Turkish government. Turkey has provided asylum to many people from Kobane and hospital care. Nonetheless, given the scale of ISIS’s war and the catastrophic situation in the city, this is by no means sufficient, especially since many of those who had fled have since returned to their destroyed city in order to rebuild it. Whilst international humanitarian aid to other regions of Syria is being provided through the Turkish border, it must also be possible for the population in Kobane to receive supplies. Only if the border with Turkey is open will the people of Kobane be able to receive all the aid and assistance which has been offered to supply, protect and rebuild their community. Reconstruction of the destroyed infrastructure will only be possible if international emergency helpers and experts are able to gain access on the ground to the cities that are in urgent need.

  • That is why we are calling on the Turkish government to urgently open up a corridor to Kobane to allow the city to live again and for the reconstruction to begin.
  • We are also calling on all international institutions and European governments to exert their influence with the Turkish Government to this end.
  • The United Nations should extend decision S/RES/2165 (2014) of 14 July 2014, Article 2, in order to guarantee an additional border crossing to Kobane. In the past, the international community, in particular the UN has been able to establish humanitarian corridors by political and diplomatic intervention.
  • The opening up of the border, and the support for the reconstruction of this city, are now matters of humanitarian urgency.

Universal values such as democracy and freedom are being defended in Kobane.
Kobane Reconstruction Board



  1. Thomas Schmidt , Lawyer, Secretary General of ELDH, Germany
  2. Dr. Norman Paech, International Law -Germany
  3. h.c. Hans von Sponeck, UN Assistant Secretary-General a.D. -Germany
  4. Murat Çakır, Geschäftsführer der Rosa-Luxemburg-Foundation Hessen-Germany
  5. Gottstein, Frankfurt/Main-Germany
  6. Prof. Dr. Elmar Altvater, Germany
  7. Janet Biehl, Writer, Eco-Feminist -US
  8. Sukla Sen , Peace activist, India
  9. John Hunt, Editor and writer, NUJ member, India
  10. Nina Rasmussen og Hjalte Tin , Denmark
  11. Corporate Watch Assosation, UK
  12. Isil Altan, Student, Kurdish Society of Nottingham Trent University
  13. Harem Karem, editor, Pasewan, India
  14. Kardo Bokani, Assistant Lecturer in Political Philosophy, University College Dublin (UCD)
  15. Caroline Lucas, MP for Brighton Pavilion, House of Commons
  16. Val Swain, Phd candidate, University of East Anglia, UK
  17. Val Swain, Phd candidate, University of East Anglia, UK
  18. Nick Hildyard, Policy analyst, UK
  19. Kat Glover, IT developer, UK
  20. Neil Taylor LL.M, PGCM, MCIPR, Lawyer and Journalist
  21. Abdalkareem Atteh, Phd Student ,Essex University, UK
  22. Peter Tatchell, Director, Peter Tatchell Foundation, UK
  23. Richard Haley, Chair, Scotland Against Criminalising Communities, Scotland
  24. Minoo Alinia, Associate Professor in Sociology, Department of Sociology, Uppsala University, Sweden
  25. Liliane Maury Pasquier , Fderal MP and member of EC- Switzerland
  26. Carlo Sommuruga , MP Social Democratic Party of Switzerland
  27. Jean Zigler ,Membre du comité consultatif du Conseil droits de l’Homme des Nations Unies- Switzerland
  28. Bernard Kouchner ,Co-Founder of DOctor without Borders and former Foreign Affairs Minister- France
  29. Patrice Franceschi , Author of the Book `Die for Kobane` France
  30. Edourd Martin , MEP -France
  31. Vittorio Agnoletto, World Social Forum International Conciel, Italy
  32. Claudio Bisio, Actor, presenter, voice actor, comedian and writer – Italy
  33. Luisa Morgantini, Former Vice-President of European Parliament- Italy
  34. Rete Kurdistan ,Kurdistan Solidarty Network- Italy
  35. Blade Nzimande : Minister of Higher Education and Traning and General Secretary of the SACP, ANC, NEC and NWC, Soth-Africa
  36. Joyce Moloi Moropa : Member of South African Parliament (ANC), Soth-Africa
  37. Zingiswa Losi : 2nd Deputy President of COSATU, Soth-Africa
  38. Jeef Radebe : Minister in the Presidency for Performance Monitoring and Evaluation (ANC), Lawyer, Former Political Prisoner, Soth-Africa
  39. Lechesa Tsenoli: Deputy Speaker of the South African National Assembly, Former Minister of Local Government and Traditional Affairs, Soth-Africa
  40. Celiwe Madlopha : Member: National Assembly (Parliament) Soth-Africa
  41. Mugwena Maluleka : general secretary of the South African Democratic Teachers Union (SADTU), Soth-Africa
  42. Mluleki Dlelanga : National secretary of the YCLSA (Young Comunist League of South Africa
  43. Hillary Qjukuru : Niigeria, Editor of Uharu (Freedom) Magazine based in South Africa
  44. Adrian Williams: Member: National Assembly (Parliament) Soth-Africa
  45. George Mashamba : SACP Central Committee Member and former Robben Island Prisoner
  46. Che Mathloke: SACP Central Committe member and Secretary for International Affairs and General Secretary of Friends of Cuba Society in South Africa
  47. Jeremy Cronin : SACP 1st General Deputy Secretary and Deputy Minister of Public Works, Soth-Africa
  48. Fiona Treggana: proffesor of economy, Soth-Africa
  49. Sabir Abu Saadia: Representative of the SPLM-N Sudan in South Africa
  50. Vuyani Iyhali : Communist Party of Lesotho (CPL) , Soth-Africa
  51. Inter Parliamentary Work Group in Belgium
  52. Coordination Stop the War against Kurds, Belgium
  53. Kurdish Institutions in Belgium:
  54. Info-Turk,Belgium
  55. VREDE, Belgium
  56. Democrat Armenian’s Association in Belgium
  57. Solidarity committee with Rojava, Belgium
  58. Union of the Socialist Women in Belgium
  59. Belgium Immigrants Collective,Belgium

Vet du av flere organisasjoner som bør stille seg bak oppropet, eller vil skrive under selv? Send en e- post til leder Seher Aydar seherayd(at)

Last ned skrivet:
Humanitarian Corridor